TN | Handgun Carry Permit
The course length is approximately 8 hours and is held both weekends and weekdays, as well as flexible evening hours during the week, which is spread over two days.
This course ideal for Tennessee residents seeking to carry a firearm outside of their home, and preparing themselves in understanding basic defense and gun laws in Tennessee, general familiarity with firearm and shooting concepts, and developing safe gun handling skills.
What if I fail the test?
In the event you fail to achieve the necessary passing score of 70, required by the state, we offer you the option to re-test for an additional $40 fee. You will be given a number to call to schedule your re-test and will have 3 weeks from the date of your class to re-test.
Private TN | Handgun Carry Permit Class Option
We do have the ability to offer the TN/HCP class as private class for groups. Provided you have a minimum of 10 students (maximum of 20). This has been a popular option for groups of women, families, church groups, co-workers, etc. To schedule a private TN/HCP Permit Class for your group or to learn more about this option call our training coordinator at 615-504-1373.
This course is structured for the student that already has an understanding of the safe handling of firearms and has a working knowledge of their handgun they will be using. The instructors have the authority and will remove students from the firing line who handle their firearms in an unsafe manner or demonstrate that they do not have a working knowledge of their handgun.
A student prior to attending this class should:
If you are uncertain of your ability to safely manipulate your handgun we recommend attending our Beginner Crash Course before attending the TN/HCP Class.
About your application number from the state…
Admissions and Deposits
- All incoming students are required to make a non-refundable deposit of $20. This deposit will be credited to the student’s class of choice. All Fees are transferable to other available dates.
Credit and Refund Policies
- Class fees will be credited to students’ accounts who give a 24 hour notification of cancellation from the class date minus the deposit fee. All fees are transferable within 6 months of the class date.
- Students that do not achieve the required minimum score of 70 in the class or range portions, and want to re-take the test there will be a $40 additional fee.